[Todos CMAT] Fwd: 51st Spring Topology and Dynamical Systems Conference

Dr. Roberto Markarian roma en fing.edu.uy
Sab Oct 15 07:12:37 UYT 2016

recibo y mando, rm

----- Mensaje reenviado de Frederic Mynard  
<stdc2017 en topology.auburn.edu> -----
  Fecha: Fri, 14 Oct 2016 20:59:06 -0500
     De: Frederic Mynard <stdc2017 en topology.auburn.edu>
Asunto: 51st Spring Topology and Dynamical Systems Conference
   Para: roma en fing.edu.uy


We are pleased to announce that New Jersey City University will be  
hosting the 51st Spring Topology and Dynamical Systems  Conference  
 from the morning of Wednesday, March 8th, 2017 to  Saturday, March  
12th, 2017. 
The conference will be held at the university's Harborside campus at  
Exchange Place, which is conveniently located minutes away from the  
World Trade Center in New York City.

Details on the conference and updates will be found at the conference  
website at:


The conference will feature 6 special sessions on Continuum Theory  
(dedicated to Sam B. Nadler), Dynamical Systems, Set-Theoretic  
Topology, Geometric Topology, Geometric Group Theory, Topology and  
Computer Science. Additionally Achim Jung will conduct an introductory  
workshop on Topology and Computer Science.

Confirmed invited speakers representing these sessions include:

Alex Clark, University of Leicester (UK)
Dave Constantine, Wesleyan University
Pallavi Dani, Lousiana State University
Alan Dow, University of North Carolina Charlotte
Andrey Gogolev , Binghamton University
Achim Jung, University of Birmingham (UK)
Ralph Kopperman, City College of New York
Jimmie Lawson, Louisiana State University
Benjamin Linowitz, Oberlin College
Kathryn Mann, UC Berkeley
Alexei Miasnikov, Stevens Institute of Technology
Chris Mouron, Rhodes College
Lex Oversteegen	, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Janusz Prajs, Sacramento State University
Brian Raines, Baylor University
Nikita Selinger, Stony Brook University
Alessandro Sisto, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
Daniel Soukup, University of Vienna (Austria)
Santi Spadaro, University of Sao Paulo (Brazil)

The Mary Ellen Rudin Young Researcher Award winner will be announced  
at the conference. Further information on the MER award can be found  
at the bottom of this message.

Please feel free to circulate this information to interested  
colleagues, and to contact me (Frédéric Mynard) at  
stdc2017 en topology.auburn.edu with any general question, or to contact  
the appropriate session organizers (to be found at the website above)  
with any session-specific question.

On behalf of the local organizing committee: Debananda Chakraborty  
(NJCU),  Francis Jordan (QCC-CUNY), Frédéric Mynard (NJCU), Homeira  
Pajoohesh (MEC-CUNY), Beimnet Teclezghi (NJCU)

Hoping to seeing you in Jersey City in March,

----------------MER AWARD---------------------
The Spring Topology conference, as a co-sponsor of the Mary Ellen  
Rudin Young Researcher Award, takes this opportunity to ask that you  
pass along the following solicitation to potential future winners of  
the award:

The selection committee will begin reviewing applications  
approximately July 1 for the fifth  winner of this annual award. The  
first winner (2013) was Logan Hoehn (graduate of Toronto), the second  
winner (2014) was Yash Lodha (graduate of Cornell), the third winner  
(2015) was Yinhe Peng (graduate of Singapore), and the fourth winner  
(2016) will be announced at STDC 2017 (this announcement).

Awarded annually, the winner will receive $15000 to be used as  
follows: $5000 in travel support to enable the winner to attend at  
least three major conferences in topology; $5000 to support travel and  
living expenses while on a visiting appointment at a leading research  
center; and a cash prize of $5000.

This award is sponsored by Elsevier, publishers for the journal  
Topology and its Applications, the annual Spring Topology and Dynamics  
Conference (STDC) and the annual Summer Conference on Topology and its  
Applications (SUMTOPO).  Please see the website


Applications will involve a letter of nomination, two other letters of  
support, a letter from the applicant with a commitment to the award,  
the proposed plan, and a detailed cv.

Alan Dow and Jan van Mill maintain a website to receive applications.   
Those interested in applying should send an e-mail to Alan Dow at  
adowtopology en gmail.com for details on how to access the website to  
upload their application materials. Applicants from last year who are  
still eligible are certainly encouraged to reapply.  We ask that they  
begin a new application but once they have we can re-use any documents  
from last year if they request it.

Please help us get this information out to deserving applicants.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate contacting one of us.

With kind regards,
Alan Dow, Jan van Mill, and Hannah Foreman on behalf of Elsevier

----- Terminar mensaje reenviado -----

------------ próxima parte ------------
An embedded message was scrubbed...
From: Frederic Mynard <stdc2017 en topology.auburn.edu>
Subject: 51st Spring Topology and Dynamical Systems Conference
Date: Fri, 14 Oct 2016 20:59:06 -0500
Size: 6771
URL: <http://www.cmat.edu.uy/pipermail/todos/attachments/20161015/8acb203b/attachment.mht>

Más información sobre la lista de distribución Todos