[Todos CMAT] International Mathematical Union

Dr. Roberto Markarian - IMERL roma en fing.edu.uy
Mar Oct 2 22:15:49 UYT 2012

Recibo y disribuyo, rm

The aim of the International Mathematical Union is to promote
international cooperation in mathematics, in particular (quoting from
the IMU website http://www.mathunion.org) "to encourage and support
international mathematical activities considered likely to contribute
to the development of mathematical science in any of its aspects,
pure, applied, or educational". The last of these aspects is addressed
in depth through IMU's commission ICMI: the International Commission
for Mathematical Instruction, a body with a history longer than that
of the IMU itself. I have been the IMU executive committee's liaison
person with the ICMI executive for the past few years and have
witnessed the realisation of a major new development focus by ICMI:
the Capacity and Networking Project CANP.
The CANP vision is to run an on-going series of programmes in a
different developing region each year, seeking to enhance mathematics
education at all levels, and to create and sustain effective regional
networks of teachers, mathematics educators and mathematicians, linked
to international support. CANP aims to build capability in the
mathematical community to meet the challenges faced by countries in
these regions.
The first CANP programme was held in Mali in 2011 bringing together 40
mathematicians from Burkina-Fasso, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, and
Senegal, and supported in particular by UNESCO. Recently the second
CANP programme was held in Costa Rica with support from the
International Council of Science (ICSU). It saw the founding of the
"Mathematics Education Network of Central America and the Caribbean".
The third CANP programme is planned to take place in Cambodia and
involve several developing countries in South East Asia.
More information about the CANP initiative can be found on the ICMI
web site at
(Check out the link to the You Tube video of CANP Costa

Cheryl E. Praeger
Member of the IMU EC
Vice-president elect of ICMI



The President of the IMU, Ingrid Daubechies, has written to the
Adhering Organizations, asking them to submit nominations for the IMU
awards listed below.

* Fields Medals - fields14-chair(at)mathunion.org
The Fields Medals are awarded every 4 years on the occasion of the
International Congress of Mathematicians  to recognize outstanding
mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of
future achievement.

* Rolf Nevanlinna Prize - nevanlinna14-chair(at)mathunion.org
The Nevanlinna Prize is awarded once every 4 years at the
International Congress of Mathematicians, for outstanding
contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences.

* Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize - gauss14-chair(at)mathunion.org
The Gauss Prize is awarded once every 4 years to honor a scientist
whose mathematical research has had an impact outside mathematics -
either in technology, in business, or simply in people's everyday lives.

* Chern Medal Award - chern14-chair(at)mathunion.org
The Chern Medal is awarded every 4 years on the occasion  of the
International Congress of Mathematicians to an individual whose
accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for
outstanding achievements in the field
of mathematics.

* Leelavati Prize, sponsored by Infosys - leelavati14-chair(at)mathunion.org
The Leelavati Prize, is intended to accord high recognition and great
appreciation of the IMU and Infosys of outstanding contributions for
increasing public awareness of mathematics as an intellectual
discipline and the crucial role it plays in diverse human endeavors.

* ICM 2014 Emmy Noether Lecture - noether14-chair(at)mathunion.org
The ICM Emmy Noether lecture is a special lecture at an ICM which
honors women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to
the mathematical sciences.

More details about each of these awards and the Noether lecture, as
well as lists of past laureates, can be found on the IMU Web site, at URL:

Deadline for nominations:  December 31, 2012
The names of the chairs of the various prize committees and their
contact information can be found at:
The names of the other prize committee members remain confidential and
will be announced at the Opening Ceremony of ICM 2014 only.

Más información sobre la lista de distribución Todos