[Todos CMAT] Abel Prize for 2009

Lydia Tappa lydia.tappa en gmail.com
Jue Mar 26 11:30:41 UYT 2009

Oslo, March 26, 2009

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the
Abel Prize for 2009 to

Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov
Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, Bures-sur-Yvette, France
“for his revolutionary contributions to geometry”

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Øyvind
Østerud, announced the winner of Abel Prize at the Academy in Oslo
today, March 26. Mikhail L. Gromov will receive the Abel Prize from
His Majesty King Harald at an award ceremony in Oslo, May 19. The Abel
Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to
the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It
carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (close to € 700,000, US$

For more information about the laureate, his achievements and the Abel
Prize, visit the Abel Prize website www.abelprisen.no/en/

Más información sobre la lista de distribución Todos